Recipe: Chicken Broccoli Casserole

Recipe time!

This is another dish I grew up eating; my mom made it all the time.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!  It’s especially good as leftovers….

Chicken Broccoli Casserole

  • 5-6 boneless skinless chicken thighs (or substitute boneless skinless breasts if that’s your preference)
  • frozen broccoli, I used a little over 1 lb of florets
  • 1 8 oz package of mushrooms, chopped coarsely
  • 1 small onion chopped
  • 2 tsp olive oil, or your favorite cooking oil
  • 1 can Cream of Mushroom soup (I used the Cream of Anything soup mix instead)
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1-2 tsp curry powder, depending on taste
  • 2 tsp paprika
  • shredded cheese to top (I used two big handfuls, but I’m a sucker for melty cheese, so again, use your preference)

Cut chicken into 1-inch cubes.  Warm oil in pan, add onions and cook until tender.  Add chicken and cook through.  Meanwhile, boil water and cook broccoli just enough to thaw it out.

Continue cooking onions and chicken.  Add in mushrooms and saute until mushrooms are warm.  Season with salt, pepper, and curry powder to taste.

Spoon out chicken mixture into the bottom of a casserole dish, leaving the juices in the pan.  Add your soup and whisk in sour cream.  Bring to a boil and let simmer for a couple of minutes while you get everything else together.

Drain broccoli and add to casserole dish.  Pour sauce over dish.  Top with cheese and sprinkle curry powder and paprika on top.

Bake until cheese is melted, about 30 minutes at 350.  I usually take the time while it’s baking to cook rice in my rice cooker, so when that is finished I pull the casserole out of the oven.

It’s best if you let the dish rest for a few minutes to come together after you take it out, but if you’re like me and can’t wait, it tastes amazing either way.  Like I mentioned before, I serve it over rice.  Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Chicken Broccoli Casserole

  1. I’ve had a dish very similar to this, but it had precooked rice at the bottom of the casserole. I guess it’s just one step away, so I imagine it’s just as delicious 😉

      • It was just leftover rice and it worked perfectly.

        Raw rice probably wouldn’t cook all the way through… unless you use minute rice…. but, yeah, leftover precooked rice worked well when my cousin made it!

Leave a Reply

